2019 AAPM Award Recipients

Each year, AAPM chooses to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional service to the Academy or to the field of pain medicine.

Honorees are selected by the AAPM Awards Committee and presented during the AAPM Annual Meeting. Voting members may nominate individuals for the Awards Committee for consideration during the annual call for nominations.

During the upcoming 35th Annual Meeting, the Academy looks forward to recognizing the following group of esteemed 2019 award recipients.

Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award

The Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award is given to a physician for outstanding contributions to the social and political aspect of Pain Medicine. Social and political accomplishments could be those that benefit the science, the practice or the recognition of the specialty.

Donna Bloodworth, MD

Dr. Lippe is an excellent role model, mentor, parliamentarian, and strategist who worked diligently to advance the practice of pain medicine and our patients’ needs. Since 2011, Dr. Bloodworth has served AAPM as either the AMA delegate or alternate delegate at annual and interim AMA meetings. She has been most proud to shepherd a resolution into the AMA policy that supports the free speech of physicians even when what they talk about what is unpopular or complex. As the AAPM Treasurer since 2016, she especially appreciates the challenges that pain medicine physicians and allied health pain specialists face as we care for our patients. She has practiced PM&R and pain medicine for the last 26 years in Houston, and is a Professor of PM&R at the Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Bloodworth is a clinician first, but the education of learners is a close second. She teaches her residents to wear a pain hat when considering patients’ functional needs and to think about function when treating pain.

Dr. Bloodworth will be presented with this award during the Friday, March 8 General Session I.

Distinguished Service Award

The Founders Award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to the science or practice of Pain Medicine. This year, there are two recipients, Randall Brewer and Michael Osborne, who co-chair the Academy’s Scientific Review and Guidelines Committee.

Randall Brewer, MD

Randall Brewer is a native of Shreveport, Louisiana, and has been in clinical private practice there for 15 years. He also maintains academic appointments at Duke University and Louisiana State University. Clinically, Dr. Brewer has a multi-disciplinary team of providers of highly skilled nurses and physician extenders that includes the disciplines of psychology, psychiatry, rehabilitation, pharmacological and interventional pain management. His research has included investigator-initiated and sponsored trials of pharmaceutical and medical device development. Dr. Brewer is co-chair of the AAPM Scientific Review and Guidelines Committee and is also an AAPM delegate for the North American Spine Society Low Back Pain Guideline committee. In his local community, Dr. Brewer has contributed to public health education through editorial columns in the local newspaper and he regularly hosts the local public radio station’s weekly public health information program, Health Matters.

Michael Osborne, MD

Michael Osborne is the Assistant Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and the Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and a Consultant for the Department of Pain Medicine at Mayo Clinic Florida. He is board certified by the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and in Pain Medicine.  Dr. Osborne was the AAPM Delegate for the Clinical Practice Guidelines Working Group: SCS in 2010. He is the co-chair of the AAPM Scientific Review and Guidelines Committee and also serves on the AAPM Scientific Poster Abstract Committee and AAPM Nominating Committee.  Please congratulate Dr. Osborne, who demonstrates leadership and commitment to pain medicine and carries forward the vision and mission of the Academy.

Dr. Brewer and Dr. Osborne will be presented with these awards during the Friday, March 8 General Session I.

Robert G. Addison, MD Award

The Robert G. Addison, MD Award is given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding efforts to foster international cooperation and collaboration on behalf of the specialty of pain medicine.

Lone Knudsen, MSc Psych PhD

Lone Knudsen holds a MSc Psych. degree from Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark and a PhD in Psychology from Murdoch University, Perth, Western Australia. Dr. Knudsen is originally from Denmark and is currently employed at the Danish National Rehabilitation Center for Neuromuscular Diseases, Aarhus, Denmark in a clinical and research position. Dr. Knudsen has conducted research into pain and complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) for more than a decade and, as such, she has also been actively involved in the teaching and dissemination of pain matters to a broad audience including international conference delegates, university students, patients and the general public. Most of her research work has been based on international collaboration between two or more research centers, and she is a current member of the International Research Consortium for Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. Dr. Knudsen is an active contributor to the scientific literature in the pain field, both as author and reviewer. She also serves as Section Co-Editor of the Neuropathic Pain Section of the Pain Medicine journal.

Attend the AAPM35 Opening Session on Thursday, March 7 both for Dr. Knudsen's award presentation as well as for a 45-minute talk by Dr. Knudsen on complex regional pain syndrome.

Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award

The Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award recognizes pain medicine fellowship programs within the United States that are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and provide an exceptional learning experience to their fellows, preparing them to deliver the highest standard of care to patients with pain.

UC San Diego Pain Medicine Fellowship Program

The UC San Diego Pain Medicine Fellowship has been accredited for 25 years and offers specialist training in the diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain syndromes, cancer and palliative care, and acute pain. The multidisciplinary training of pain fellows includes core faculty from anesthesiology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and neurology. The program's guiding principle for the fellowship is to produce well-rounded graduates with a balanced approach to clinical training, procedural training, and academic accomplishment while maintaining a good work-life balance for trainees. AAPM congratulates the UC San Diego Pain Medicine Fellowship Program, including Tim Furnish MD, Program Director, as well as its faculty, fellows, and staff.

Dr. Furnish will accept this award on behalf of UC San Diego during the Friday, March 8 General Session II.


More in this category: « APA CE Credits Poster Information »