AAPM to Recognize 5 Distinguished Individuals with Awards in National Harbor


AAPM 2020 Lippe Award recipient, Vanila Singh, MD, speaking at the AAPM Annual Meeting in March 2019.

Each year, AAPM chooses to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional service to the Academy or to the field of pain medicine.

The following honorees will be recognized during the upcoming AAPM Annual Meeting February 26-March 1, 2020, in National Harbor, MD.

Dr. Vanila Singh Receives Lippe Award

The Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award is given to a physician for outstanding contributions to the social and political aspects of pain medicine. Social and political accomplishments could be those that benefit the science, the practice or the recognition of the specialty. AAPM is pleased to recognize Vanila Singh, MD, with the 2020 Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award.

Dr. Ru-Rong Ji Receives Founders Award

The Founders Award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to the science or practice of pain medicine. This award is given for continued contributions for the basic or clinical science of pain medicine or for demonstration of clinical excellence or innovation in the practice of pain medicine. AAPM is pleased to recognized Ru-Rong Ji, PhD PI with the 2020 Founders Award.

Dr. Singh and Dr. Ji will be recognized during General Session II on Friday, February 28.

3 Addison Award Recipients Named in 2020, Including Drs. Trip Buckenmaier, Sean Mackey, & Winfried Meissner

The Robert G. Addison, MD Award was created to honor the memory of the late AAPM President, Bob Addison. The award is given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding efforts to foster international cooperation and collaboration on behalf of the specialty of pain medicine.

AAPM will recognize three individuals with Addison Awards in 2020.

Drs. Buckenmaier, Mackey, and Meissner will present about their work in developing pain specialty registries during the Addison Award: Pioneers in Pain Medicine Registries session on Saturday, February 29.

Register for AAPM 2020