Opening Session and Award Presentation (101)

Plan your trip in time to arrive in Vancouver for the Opening Session on Thursday evening. Kimberly George will present an important talk examining healthcare reimbursement issues from a payer’s perspective.

The Robert G. Addison Award will be presented to Xue-Jun Song, MD PhD.

Stakeholder Collaboration in Moving Pain Management Forward: A Payer’s Perspective

Kimberly George, RN

Kimberly George, SVP at Sedgwick Claims, will examine healthcare reimbursement issues, such as prior authorizations, that are commonly seen as barriers by clinicians. Ms. George will guide meeting attendees through novel payer initiatives including development of top-tiered outcomes-based referral networks and other initiatives to improve patient outcomes and support evidence-based quality care. These collaborative partnerships between payer and clinician can help in the quest to better manage high impact chronic pain in an ever-changing healthcare market.

8:15–9:15 am Friday, April 27

General Session I and Award Presentations (102)

The first full-day of AAPM 34th Annual Meeting educational programming will kick off with opening remarks from AAPM President, Steven P. Stanos, DO, and the 2018 Keynote Address, delivered by Amy Compton-Phillips, MD. Dr. Compton-Phillips is executive vice president and chief clinical officer for Providence Health & Services and she her address is titled Practicing Medicine in the Age of Accelerations.

The Phillipp M. Lippe and Distinguished Service Awards will be presented.

President’s Opening Remarks

Steven P. Stanos, DO

Keynote Address: Practicing Medicine in the Age of Accelerations

Amy L. Compton-Phillips, MD

AAPM is pleased to welcome Amy Compton-Phillips, MD, executive vice president and chief clinical officer for Providence Health & Services, to deliver the 2018 Keynote Address. Dr. Compton-Phillips has an extensive background in directing patient care programs and leading healthcare organizations. She will share a physician executive’s perspective while speaking to AAPM annual meeting attendees about navigating healthcare system changes, systems’ responses to pain management issues, and the general state of health care and its impact on pain physicians practicing at both private and academic institutions.

9:15–10 am Friday, April 27

General Session II and Award Presentations (103)

AAPM received a record high number of scientific abstract poster submissions in 2018. The Scientific Poster Abstract Committee, Chaired by James C. Watson, MD, thoroughly reviewed abstracts. The highest-ranking poster abstract authors were invited to present their research to AAPM Annual Meeting attendees during this General Session. Attendees can look forward to learning about some of the most cutting-edge science in the field of pain medicine.

The Founders Award will be presented.

Plenary Research Highlights

Increasing both the quality and quantity of scientific pain research is a primary goal of the AAPM annual meeting. The Scientific Poster Abstract Committee has selected the highest-ranking, most novel 2018 poster submissions for live presentation in this plenary venue.


James C. Watson, MD

General Session III and Award Presentations (104)

The AAPM 34th Annual Meeting Saturday program will kick off with a truly must-attend plenary program featuring guest speaker Vanila Singh, MD, Chief Medical Officer for HHS. Dr. Singh practices at Stanford University where she is Clinical Associate Professor, Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine. AAPM Past President and Stanford University Redlich Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, Sean Mackey, MD PhD, will also present during this session.

The Patient Advocacy Award and Presidential Excellence Award for Education will be presented.

The National Strategy and U.S. Task Force on Pain and Opioids

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Vanila M. Singh, will discuss the National Pain Strategy; her leadership in developing the U.S. Task Force on Pain and Opioids; and the ongoing mission, challenges, and opportunities to address the dual crises facing the country.

Moderator: Sean Mackey, MD PhD

Shared Solutions for Our Pain and Opioid Crises

Sean Mackey, MD PhD

The National Strategy and U.S. Task Force on Pain and Opioids

Vanila M. Singh, MD

7–7:50 am Sunday, April 29

General Session IV (105)

The final AAPM 34th Annual Meeting plenary sessions will focus on the late-breaking findings of consensus guidelines about the use of ketamine for acute and chronic pain.

Guidelines for the Use of Ketamine to Treat Acute and Chronic Pain

An expert panel will offer insight into key findings on indications for the use of ketamine, optimal dosing, physiological monitoring, and contraindications from a newly developed clinical guideline.

Ketamine: Development of the ASRA, AAPM, and ASA Guidelines for Chronic Pain Recommendations for Use

Stephen P. Cohen, MD

Pre-Treatment Testing and Monitoring for Ketamine Infusions

Robert W. Hurley, MD PhD

Contraindications for Ketamine Infusions

Ajay D. Wasan, MD MSc

Clinical Indications and Treatment Effects of Ketamine for Chronic Pain

W. Michael Hooten, MD

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify patient subgroups where ketamine use is indicated.
  • Select optimal dose and duration of ketamine administration for acute and chronic pain.
  • Demonstrate working knowledge about which physiological monitors are needed to safely administer ketamine.
Subscribe to this RSS feed