Santhanam Suresh, MD--Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital

Dr. Suresh is the Arthur C. King Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatric Anesthesiology at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago (formerly Children’s Memorial Hospital) and is a professor of pediatrics and anesthesiology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. He previously served as the vice chairman and director of research for the Department of Pediatric Anesthesiology at Lurie’s Children’s Hospital and as chair of its Pain Practices Committee.


APA CE Credits

The following AAPM 35th Annual Meeting sessions have been reviewed and approved by the American Psychological Association's (APA) Office of Continuing Education in Psychology (CEP) to offer Continuing Education (CE) credit for psychologists. Full attendance is required at each session for which you are claiming APA CE credit. Partial credit is not awarded. The CEP Office maintains responsibility for the delivery of the session.

Approval #2019002.

Note: Claimants must also complete and online evaluation prior to receiving credit from APA. Instructions for signing up to receive APA CE credit will be available by late-February 2019. A $100 fee to claim APA CE credit will apply.

Friday, March 8

Saturday, March 9

Sunday, March 10

Contact AAPM with questions about claiming APA credit by e-mailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or calling 847-375-4731.


CDC Guideline Implementation Spotlight Session

The AAPM Foundation convened a multidisciplinary panel of pain medicine experts, reflecting a spectrum of clinical, research, and academic experience, to develop practical recommendations for opioid prescribing in light of the 2016 "CDC Guideline for Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain," and other professional organization guidelines. That panel's "Challenges with Implementing the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Opioid Guideline: A Consensus Panel Report" was published in Pain Medicine.

Members of the multidisciplinary panel that authored the report will present during this AAPM Annual Meeting Spotlight Session on their findings and recommendations to address challenges with implementing the CDC Guideline.

Congratulations to 2019 AAPM Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award Recipient, UC San Diego

AAPM is pleased to announce the UC San Diego Pain Medicine Fellowship Program as the 2019 Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award recipient.

The AAPM Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award recognizes pain medicine fellowship programs within the United States that are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and provide an exceptional learning experience to their fellows, preparing them to deliver the highest standard of care to patients with pain.

The UC San Diego Pain Medicine Fellowship has been accredited for 25 years and offers specialist training in the diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain syndromes, cancer and palliative care, and acute pain. The program has five accredited, 12-month positions and also offers the option of a two-year combined fellowship in clinical research and clinical pain management. The multidisciplinary training of pain fellows includes core faculty from anesthesiology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and neurology. Fellows also receive training from guest lecturers and rotation faculty from psychiatry, psychology, palliative medicine, gynecology, orthopedic surgery, radiology, and physical therapy. The program's guiding principle for the fellowship is to produce well-rounded graduates with a balanced approach to clinical training, procedural training, and academic accomplishment while maintaining a good work-life balance for trainees.

View the full AAPM award announcement to learn more about UC San Diego's Pain Medicine Fellowship Program and the award itself.

Additional Discounted Ultrasound Spots Just Released

Additional discounted-rate registrations are now available to fellows, residents, and medical students interested in participating in the AAPM35 Ultrasound-Guided Acute and Chronic Pain Medicine Interventions Preconference at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver on March 7.

This hands-on course featuring low faculty-to-learner ratios and the opportunity to test out state-of-the-art ultrasound equipment on live models is available to all interested meeting registrants for $850 (members receive the reduced rate of $750). Fellows, residents, and students may participate at a significantly discounted rate of just $250.

Course directors Jennifer Hah, MD MS, of Stanford University and Dmitri Souza, MD PhD, of Yale University have identified a stellar lineup of pain medicine specialists to lead attendees through each station. Faculty will also deliver an overview of the advantages and limitations of ultrasound guidance in the practice of pain medicine.

View the course agenda for the full schedule and additional information about what will be covered at each station.

This preconference is anticipated to sell out. Online registration is available online until March 1 or until space has filled.

Register now!

Congratulations to AAPM's 2019 Class of Fellows Scholars

The AAPM Pain Medicine Fellows Scholarship was established in 2015 to help foster the field's future leaders. Over the past four years, the program has funded the travel of dozens of deserving pain medicine fellows to attend the AAPM Annual Meeting, where they are exposed to premier education and networking opportunities.

The Academy is excited to have five 2019 Pain Medicine Fellow Scholars in attendance at the AAPM 35th Annual Meeting, March 6-10, 2019, in Denver.

Bonita Franklin, DO

Louisiana State University, New Orleans, LA

Aaron Heller, DO, MS

Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, OH

Saba Javed, MD

MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Andrew Joyce, MD

Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR

Ashwin Rangavajjula, MD

Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA

Loc Thang, MD, PhD

Washington University, St. Louis, MO

Please join us in congratulating these scholarship recipients. You can identify them by looking for scholarship ribbons on their name badges in Denver.

Not registered for the meeting yet? Sign up today! Advance registration ends March 1.

Jee Youn Moon, MD PhD--Seoul National University Hospital College of Medicine

Dr. Moon is an Associate Professor at the Seoul National University Hospital in Seoul. She is Director of the International Cooperation of the Korean Pain Society and Korean Chapter Chair of the World Academy of Pain Medicine Ultrasonography (WAPMU). Her clinical and research interests include sympathetic blocks in pain medicine, procedural ultrasonography, and opioid use disorders in cancer and non-cancer patients. Dr. Moon is currently appointed as Director, Cancer Pain Management Center at Seoul National University Cancer Hospital.