Learn about AAPM Annual Meeting speakers, who are experts in the pain medicine field from around the country, below, and view a full list of the planning committee and faculty disclosures.

Kimberly George, RN--Sedgwick, Inc.

Kimberly George, RNSedgwick, Inc.

Ms. George is a senior vice president, corporate development, M&A, healthcare at Sedgwick. In this new position, Kimberly will explore and work to improve Sedgwick’s understanding of how health care reform affects its business models and product and service offerings. Kimberly previously served as Sedgwick’s managed care practice lead. She joined Sedgwick in 2001 overseeing integrated disability medical programs and later case management services.

Prior to joining Sedgwick, Kimberly worked as a consultant within the 24-hour health and integrated disability management arena. She also held a leadership position with a large national managed care organization’s case management division. Her career has focused on creating health and productivity programs for employers, impacting quality and cost of risk. Kimberly has been a registered nurse for 20 years. Although she began her career as a neuro-trauma nurse, she quickly transitioned to the insurance and benefits arena. Her experience in the cost containment field spans nearly 20 years. Kimberly’s roles in the property and casualty field include product development, national telephonic case management and utilization review oversight, and integrated disability management as well as her previous position with Sedgwick as managed care practice lead. Her insurance background includes workers' compensation, short- and long-term disability, auto, liability, professional liability, longshore and total absence management.

Kimberly is an excellent presenter and a frequent speaker at national conferences and events. She is often featured in industry journals and publications and is a highly regarded authority in the managed care and workers’ compensation arena.


Opening Session and Award Presentation (101)

SVP, Corporate Development, M&A, and Healthcare
Chicago, IL
Patrice A. Harris, MD MA--American Medical Association

Patrice A. Harris, MD MAAmerican Medical Association

Patrice A. Harris, MD, MA, a psychiatrist from Atlanta, has diverse experience as a private practicing physician, public health administrator, patient advocate and medical society lobbyist. She was elected to the American Medical Association Board of Trustees (BOT) in June 2011.

Active in organized medicine her entire career, Dr. Harris has served on the board of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and was an APA delegate to the AMA. She has also been a member of the governing council of the AMA Women Physicians Congress, testified before and served on AMA reference committees, and has served on AMA work groups on health information technology, SGR and private contracting. The AMA-BOT appointed her to the AMA Council on Legislation in 2003, and she was elected by the council in 2010 to serve as its chair.

Dr. Harris has held many leadership positions at the state level as well, including serving on the board and as president of the Georgia Psychiatric Physicians Association and on the Medical Association of Georgia’s Council on Legislation, its Committee on Constitution and Bylaws, and its Membership Task Force. She was also the founding president of the Georgia Psychiatry Political Action Committee. In 2001 Dr. Harris was selected Psychiatrist of the Year by the Georgia Psychiatric Physicians Association. In 2007 she was inducted into the West Virginia University Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

Governing themes in Dr. Harris’ professional life are a passion to improve the lives of children and service to others. Starting with medical school at West Virginia University, followed by a psychiatry residency and child psychiatry and forensics fellowships at Emory, and then as the Barton senior policy fellow at the Emory University School of Law, she has worked for children both clinically and in the advocacy arena. At Emory she addressed public policy for abused and neglected children before the Georgia legislature and in public education programs. Dr. Harris has also given invited lectures and presentations on children’s mental health, childhood trauma, integration of health services, health equity, and the intersection of athletics and health.

As past director of Health Services for Fulton County, Ga., which includes Atlanta, Dr. Harris was the county’s chief health officer, overseeing all county health-related programs and functions, including a wide range of public safety, behavioral health, and primary care treatment and prevention services. She spearheaded the county’s efforts to integrate public health, behavioral health and primary care services. Dr. Harris also served as medical director for the Fulton County Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities.

Currently, Dr. Harris continues in private practice and consults with both public and private organizations on health service delivery and emerging trends in practice and health policy. She is an adjunct assistant professor in the Emory Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

Yu “Woody” Lin, MD PhD--National Institute on Drug Abuse/NIH

Yu “Woody” Lin, MD PhDNational Institute on Drug Abuse/NIH


Getting Your Research Funded

Program Director
Bethesda, MD
Sean Mackey, MD PhD--Stanford University, School of Medicine

Sean Mackey, MD PhDStanford University, School of Medicine

Chronic pain afflicts approximately 100 million people in the US, and associated yearly healthcare costs exceed half a trillion dollars. Under Dr. Sean Mackey's leadership, researchers at the Stanford Pain Management Center and the Stanford Systems Neuroscience and Pain Laboratory (SNAPL) have made major advances in the understanding of chronic pain as a disease in its own right, one that fundamentally alters the nervous system. Dr. Mackey has overseen efforts to map the specific brain and spinal cord regions that perceive and process pain, which has lead to the development of a multidisciplinary treatment model that translates basic science research into innovative therapies to provide more effective, personalized treatments for patients with chronic pain. Under Dr. Mackey's leadership, the Stanford Pain Management Center has been designated a Center of Excellence by the American Pain Society, one of only two centers to receive this honor twice. Dr. Mackey is a past president of the American Academy of Pain Medicine, and in 2012, U.S. News and World Report named him as among the top 1% of pain doctors in the US. In 2011 he was a member of the Institutes of Medicine committee that issued the report on Relieving Pain in America. Dr. Mackey has served as principal investigator and investigator for multiple NIH grants to investigate chronic pain and to investigate novel analgesics for acute and chronic pain. Dr. Mackey has published over 70 articles and book chapters. Dr. Mackey received his BSE and MSE in bioengineering from the University of Pennsylvania and his MD and PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Arizona. In 1994 he completed his anesthesia residency and a fellowship in pain medicine at Stanford. Since 2007, Dr. Mackey has served as Chief of the Division of Pain Medicine and director of the fellowship program in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine.